Over Budget

If you’ve been following along, you know that finances are one of my trauma triggers. You also know that going over budget on grocery day usually sends me into a banana-almond-butter eating, TV watching, stress paralyzed, vegetative state.

Today, I went over budget.

I didn’t even want to put the groceries away when I got home. I wanted to sink into the couch and crawl under the covers and be done for the day.

I didn’t.

Last week I gained a little freedom. Opening up publicly about the abuse and anxiety I have experienced has made it a little easier.

So today, instead of vegging on the coach until I have to get dinner started, I threw a pot roast into a crock pot and dinner will be ready in 6 hours.

I also visited a church last night and didn’t have a panic attack.

Baby steps, y’all!

Well, enough about me, let’s get to this past week’s recipes, shall we?

I should mention that our Whole 30 ended on Thursday and we have now gone Paleo!

I must have been on a Mexican kick cause we had three south of the border inspired meals this week!

IMG_9930

Fish Tacos- I used this recipe except I replaced the sour cream with this dairy free recipe, used my homemade olive oil mayo, and the tortillas with this GF recipe. Although next time I’ll use the tostada recipe below only with slightly more ripe plantains because these tasted like crepes.

We also splurged on a couple margaritas to celebrate our first day of Paleo. I made sure to get %100 agave tequila and mixed orange-pineapple juice with the juice of a few limes until it tasted like a good blend of sweet and sour. No added sugar, just juice and tequila. Delish!

 

IMG_9643

Chicken Tostadas, our favorite meal I have ever made. Takes a lot of work but SO worth it!  We also drank sparkling mineral water with some squeezed clementine juice.

 

Tex Mex Casserole, also another favorite and I always forget to photograph this one because we eat it too fast. I don’t use parsnips or spinach in mine in an effort to save money, but if you give it a try let me know what you think.

 

IMG_9951

I also wanted to mention how much I love bacon grease. I use Pederson’s Paleo Friendly, Uncured, No Sugar, Hickory Smoked Bacon from Whole Foods because it is the only sugar free one I can find. Whenever I fry up bacon, I pour the extra drippings into an empty jar I keep next to the stove. Then I use that grease to cook all sorts of things, veggies, meat, eggs. MMMMMM! It has changed the way I cook. You should try it!

Hope y’all have a great week!

Happy eating, friends!

-Awakened

 

2 thoughts on “Over Budget

  1. Congratulations on completing your Whole30 and transitioning to Paleo guys! I’m a huge fan of Mexican food AND Zenbelly, so I’ll be sure to try out those tostadas too 🙂 PS: those Paleo-style margaritas sound deeeelish!

    Like

Leave a comment